Banking / Financial

New Jersey Bankers Association Announces Officers and Board of Directors

The New Jersey Bankers Association has installed the following officers and board members for its 2018-2019 fiscal year. NJBankers officers, along with the board of directors, guide the association as it implements its mission of representing the membership’s interests before state and federal government and regulatory authorities, providing support in public and media relations, professional development and providing employee health insurance benefit programs through its licensed insurance brokerage facility, Bankers Cooperative Group.

William D. Moss – Chairman

William D. Moss is president, chief executive officer and a director of the company and the bank, and has served in various capacities with the company and the bank since its inception in 2000. Prior to that time, Moss served in various officer positions with several banks, including Midlantic National Bank and Central Jersey Bank and Trust Company. He previously served on the NJBankers board of directors on two separate occasions. He currently serves on the New Jersey State Banking Advisory Council, the board of the New Jersey Bankers Association, the American Bankers Association Community Bank Advisory Council and several non-profit boards.

Thomas J. Kemly – First Vice Chairman

Thomas J. Kemly joined Columbia in 1981 as a management trainee. Upon completion of the bank’s Management Training Program, Kemly was promoted to accounting supervisor. In 1986, he was promoted to assistant controller; was named controller in 1986, and was appointed vice president, controller in 1988. He was appointed vice president, chief financial officer in 1992 and was appointed senior vice president a year later. In 2001, Kemly was appointed senior executive vice president, chief operating officer, and was appointed to the board of directors in 2006. On January 1, 2012, Kemly was appointed president and chief executive officer. He serves on the boards of the New Jersey Bankers Association and the Commerce and Industry Association of New Jersey (CIANJ) and is a member of the OCC Mutual Advisory Committee. He is also a past president of the Financial Managers Society.

Thomas J. Shara – Second Vice Chairman

Thomas J. Shara was named president and chief executive officer of Lakeland Bancorp, Inc. and Lakeland Bank effective April 2, 2008. Prior to joining Lakeland Bank, Shara served as president and chief lending officer of TD Banknorth’s (now TD Bank) Mid-Atlantic Division, which includes New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania. Prior to TD Banknorth acquiring Hudson United Bank, he was executive vice president and senior loan officer of HUBCO, a $9 billion commercial bank, where he oversaw organic growth and was responsible for integrating over 30 acquisitions.

Shara serves on the board of trustees of the Boys and Girls Club of Paterson and Passaic, New Jersey and on the board of directors of the Commerce and Industry Association of New Jersey and the New Jersey Bankers Association. He also serves on the board of governors of the Ramapo College Foundation and the Chilton Medical Center Foundation.

Members of the NJBankers Board of Directors include:

  • John Borelli, Jr. , president/CEO, Newfield National Bank
  • Louis Anthony Costantino, Jr. , managing director, Industry Manager , JPMorgan Chase Bank
  • Detlef H. Felschow, president/CEO, Roselle Savings Bank
  • Dianne M. Grenz, senior executive vice president/chief consumer banking officer, Valley National Bank
  • Douglas L. Kennedy, president/CEO, Peapack-Gladstone Bank
  • Steven Klein, president/CEO, Northfield Bank
  • Anthony Labozzetta, president/CEO, SB One Bank
  • Thomas Lupo, president/CEO, Regal Bank
  • Christopher D. Maher, chairman/president/CEO, OceanFirst Bank
  • Paula Mandell, senior vice president/area executive , M&T Bank
  • Christopher Martin, chairman/president/CEO, Provident Bank
  • Michael P. O’Brien, senior vice president/market manager, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Kevin B. Peterson, president/CEO, Haddon Savings Bank
  • Preston D. Pinkett, III, chairman/CEO, City National Bank of New Jersey
  • Robert Rey, president/CEO, NVE Bank
  • Patrick L. Ryan, president/CEO, First Bank
  • Larry C. Schmidt, president/CEO, 1st Bank of Sea Isle City
  • Nicholas J. Tedesco, Jr., president/CEO, GSL Savings
  • Gregory White, Northern NJ region bank president, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.
  • Immediate Former Chairman, James S. Vaccaro, chairman/president/CEO, Manasquan Bank
  • Former Chairwoman, Angela Snyder, chairwoman/CEO, Fulton Bank of New Jersey

To access more business news, visit NJB News Now.

Related Articles: