New Jersey

NJBPU Convenes Inaugural 2019 Energy Master Plan Committee

Today, New Jersey Board of Public Utilities (NJBPU) President Joseph L. Fiordaliso convened the inaugural meeting of the Energy Master Plan (EMP) Committee in accordance with Gov. Phil Murphy’s Executive Order 28. The 2019 EMP will set a strategic vision for the state’s role as a leader in the 21st century energy economy over the next decade and set New Jersey on a path towards 100% clean energy by mid-century.

On May 23, Governor Murphy signed the order directing the NJBPU to spearhead the committee that will develop and deliver the new Energy Master Plan by June 1, 2019. The Committee is tasked with developing a blueprint for the total conversion of the State’s energy production profile to 100 percent clean energy by January 1, 2050 with specific proposals to be implemented over the next ten years.

“Through the Energy Master Plan, the administration is getting to work on fulfilling a critical promise to foster our state’s clean energy future and confront climate change head on,” said Governor Murphy. “This plan will advance our energy goals and cultivate a strong clean energy economy to meet the needs of all New Jersey residents. Investments in a clean energy economy also mean growth of new industry, a change that will create jobs and new opportunities for skilled workers.”

“NJBPU is thrilled to spearhead the development of the 2019 EMP that will encompass Governor Murphy’s clean energy policy goals and directives,” said President Fiordaliso. “We are already hard at work on initiatives like offshore wind to ensure we are on track to meet the Governor’s strategic vision to achieve 100 percent clean energy sources by 2050.”

The Committee collaborated as to the overarching goals and themes of the 2019 EMP and determined that the final document would provide a comprehensive guide for the use, management, and development of energy across the state. The ultimate 2019 EMP will focus on five main areas: Clean Energy; Sustainable and Resilient Infrastructure; Affordability and Energy Efficiency; Clean and Reliable Transportation; and Building a Modern Grid.  Committee members also discussed how energy policy impacts the decisions their respective departments make and the constituencies they serve.

The EMP Committee is chaired by Grace Strom Power, NJBPU Chief of Staff, and is composed of senior staff designees from the following state agencies: Department of Community Affairs, Economic Development Authority, Department of Environmental Protection, Department of Health, Department of Human Services, Department of Transportation, Department of Labor and Workforce Development, and Department of the Treasury.

To access more business news, visit

Related Articles: