Now is a good time to make sure you stay on the State of New Jersey’s “Nice” list this year by making sure you comply with some key notice requirements before 2014 comes to a close. So here is a friendly reminder from The New Jersey Business & Industry Association (NJBIA), of three of the notifications required by New Jersey law.
Gender Equity Notice: New Jersey employers with 50 or more employees are required to post a gender equity notice and also provide employees with a copy of the notice on or before December 31 of each year (in addition to at the time of the employee’s hiring and whenever an employee requests it). Employers must receive signed acknowledgments that their employees have received and understand the notice within 30 days after the employees receive the information. While the law requiring the notice is not specific as to whether employers are required to get signed acknowledgments each time the notice is distributed or just after the first time, as a best practice employers should attempt to receive the acknowledgements each time the notice is distributed. A copy of the poster is available by clicking here.
Wage & Hour: No later than January 1, 2015, all New Jersey employers will need to post an updated wage and hour poster which displays the $8.38 new minimum wage rate (effective January 1, 2015). Click here for a copy of the new poster.
Whistleblower: New Jersey employers with 10 or more employees must annually provide notice of the Conscientious Employee Protection Act (CEPA), also known as the Whistleblower Act. In this notice, an employer must provide contact information for the person responsible for receiving reports of suspected illegal activity. Although CEPA does not specifically require a written acknowledgement that employees received and understand the notice, doing so is a recommended best practice. Click here for a copy of the notice.Related Articles: