General Business

NJ Hall of Fame Announces Incoming Class of Inductees

The New Jersey Hall of Fame (NJHOF) has announced who the inductees are for the incoming Class of 2019-2020 – a who’s who of some of the Garden State’s best and brightest.

The 12th annual induction ceremony will be a 1-hour virtual pre-recorded ceremony that will take place on Sunday, Oct. 18, 2020, and will be broadcast on several television, radio and prominent social media platforms throughout New Jersey. The Class of 2019-2020’s Unsung Hero will be announced in early October.

“These Garden State heroes perfectly represent what makes our state great,” says Jon F. Hanson, chairman of the NJHOF. “It’s our privilege to honor these inductees for their outstanding contributions to our state.”

The New Jersey Hall of Fame Class of 2019-2020 is (with name, town, occupation):

Enterprise: Public Service:
The Borg Family, Hackensack, Former owners and publishers of The Record Dr. Virginia Apgar*, Westfield, Anesthesiologist and inventor of the Apgar Score
Linda Bowden, East Brunswick, N.J. regional president at PNC Bank and N.J. Chamber of Commerce board chair Sister Jane Brady, Paterson, Former president and CEO of St. Joseph’s Health
Fairleigh Dickinson*, Rutherford, Co-Founder of Fortune 500 company Becton Dickinson, benefactor of Fairleigh Dickinson University General Martin Dempsey, Jersey City, Former Army general and chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, USA Basketball chair
Steve Kalafer, Flemington, Chairman of the Flemington Car and Truck Country Family of Brands Alfred Driscoll*, Haddonfield, 43rd Governor of New Jersey and president of Warner-Lambert
Joseph Simunovich*, West New York, Former Hudson County freeholder director and chairman of the New Jersey Turnpike Authority Milton Friedman*, Rahway, Noble Prize-winning economist
Arts & Letters: Sports:
Charles Addams*, Westfield, Cartoonist and creator of The Addams Family Rick Barry, Roselle Park, NBA player named one of 50 greatest in history
Stephen Crane*, Newark, Author of The Red Badge of Courage Gerry Cooney, Fanwood, Two-time boxing heavyweight contender
Joyce Kilmer*, New Brunswick, Journalist, literary critic and poet best known for “Trees” Eli Manning, Summit, Former NY Giant quarterback and two-time Super Bowl MVP
Fran Lebowitz, Morristown, World-renowned author and public speaker Robert Mulcahy, III, Mendham, Former athletic director of Rutgers University
Mort Pye*, Tewksbury, 31-year editor of The Star-Ledger Vivian Stringer, Piscataway, Head coach of the Rutgers University women’s basketball team


Arts & Entertainment:
Danny Aiello*, Ramsey, Academy Award-nominated actor
John Amos, Newark, Roots and Good Times actor
Mary Chapin Carpenter, Princeton, Five-time Grammy award winner, singer-songwriter
Ed Harris, Tenafly, Multiple award-winning actor
Anne Hathaway, Millburn, Academy and Emmy Award-winning actor
Cissy Houston, Newark, Grammy Award-winning soul and gospel singer
Ernie Kovacs*, Trenton, Emmy Award-winning and influential comedian, actor and writer
The Nelson Family (Ozzie, Harriet and Ricky)*, Jersey City, Stars of The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet
Flip Wilson*, Jersey City, Grammy and Emmy Award-winning host of The Flip Wilson Show, comedian and actor

*-Being honored posthumously.

In the case of someone who has been selected for the Hall but not inducted due to not being able to attend a previous ceremony, the NJHOF may add to the list of inductees prior to the Oct. 18 ceremony.

To access more business news, visit NJB News Now.

Related Articles: