New Jersey

Governor Murphy Signs Executive Order on Ethics and Convenes First Cabinet Meeting

On the first full day after his inauguration, Gov. Phil Murphy signed an executive order outlining the ethics and standards of the administration. Under Murphy’s executive order, there will be tightened restrictions for the Governor, Cabinet members, and Executive Staff on receiving gifts and fewer loopholes for upgrades or giveaways.

“This administration will have the back of every New Jersey resident and that begins with having a government they can trust,” said Governor Murphy. “Our principles are strong and, today, we have taken the first step toward a fairer New Jersey.”

Governor Murphy’s executive order was signed as he met with his Cabinet for the first time. The Cabinet is the most diverse in state history, a group that includes eight women, the fist Muslim commissioner in state history, the first Sikh commissioner in state history, and the first Latina to head the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance.

“I am proud to say that our Cabinet looks like the state of New Jersey,” Governor Murphy said. “In one of the most diverse states in the nation, those in leadership should reflect the people they are chosen to serve. Our Cabinet celebrates this state’s diversity and intelligence and sends a powerful message to residents that there is room for them in government and decision-making.”

A list of Governor Murphy’s Cabinet and the text of the Executive Order is below.

  • Attorney General Gurbir Grewal
  • Community Affairs Commissioner and Lieutenant Governor Sheila Oliver
  • Transportation Commissioner Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti
  • Treasurer Elizabeth Muoio
  • Education Commissioner Lamont Repollet
  • Health Commissioner Shereef Elnahal
  • Secretary of State Tahesha Way
  • Labor and Workforce Development Commissioner Robert Asaro-Angelo
  • Banking and Insurance Commissioner Marlene Caride
  • DEP Commissioner Catherine McCabe
  • Adjutant General Col. Jemal Beale
  • Homeland Security Director Jared Maples
  • Corrections Commissioner Gary Lanigan
  • Agriculture Secretary Douglas Fisher
  • Children and Families Commissioner Christine Norbut Beyer
  • Human Services Commissioner Carole Johnson
  • Board of Public Utilities President Joe Fiordaliso
Related Articles: