nursing school
Higher Ed

Felician School of Nursing Charters New Sigma Chapter

Felician University School of Nursing recently held an Inaugural Induction Ceremony for the Alpha Beta Chi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society. Sigma is an international community of nurses, dedicated to the advancement of knowledge, teaching, learning, and service through the cultivation of communities of practice, education, and research. Sigma Vice President Gloria Chan, presided over the chartering ceremony, after which the new 620th Sigma Chapter listened to remarks by Felician University Acting President Dr. Mildred Mihlon, Felician University School of Nursing Dean Dr. Christine Mihal, and District 38 Assemblywoman Lisa Swain.

Sixty-one members, including eight nurse leaders, were inducted into the new Alpha Beta Chi Chapter during the event. Sigma leaders Dr. Avita Avadani, Carole Liske, and Myra Washum-Beye as well as distinguished nurse leaders, Dr. Margaret Daingerfield and Dr. Lucille Joel, attended the event.

The mission of the Alpha Beta Chi Chapter is to develop Felician University nurse leaders through the School of Nursing and its healthcare community. The Alpha Beta Chi Chapter Board Members include President, Dr. Daria Waszak, Vice President, Eric Wignall, Treasurer, Dr. Patricia Munno, Secretary, Dr. Michelle Gilbert, and Faculty Counselor, Aimee Giordano. Other chapter leaders include Chair of Governance, Dr. Jasmine Garces-King, and Chair of Leadership Succession, Mary Clare Smith. Previously, Felician had been a member of an at-large Sigma chapter that included Saint Elizabeth University and Saint Peter’s University.

To access more business news, visit NJB News Now.

Related Articles: