board room
New Hire/Promotion

Chemistry Council of NJ Announces New Chairperson

At their June 19, 2020 meeting, the Chemistry Council of New Jersey’s board of directors elected Michael Heltzer, head of State Government Affairs for BASF Corporation, as the Council’s new chairperson, succeeding Leslie Waller, director of Chemistry, Energy & Environmental Industry, Americas for Messer Americas, who completed her term as chairperson, and will now serve as immediate past chairperson.

“It has been my pleasure to serve as chair for the last two years,” said Leslie Waller. “I know that the Council will be in good hands under the new leadership team, and I look forward to working with them to continue the positive changes started during my tenure.”

Under Waller’s leadership, the board started the gradual implementation of policy and management changes, including the update of the Council’s by-laws, which support greater transparency, and increased the membership of the Council’s board of directors to include representation from associate member companies.

Leslie Waller was elected chairperson of the board of directors in 2018 and is the second woman in the Council’s history to hold the position of chair.

“I am grateful for Leslie’s leadership and for what she was able to accomplish in her term to help advance the Council and better serve our members,” said Dennis Hart, executive director of the Chemistry Council of New Jersey and board secretary. “The Nominating Committee put forth leaders with extensive industry experience and just as important, many years of active participation on the Council’s board of directors.”

Michael Heltzer has been involved with the Chemistry Council of New Jersey since joining BASF Corporation in 2006 and became a member of the board of directors in 2013. Recently, he was named to the executive committee prior to his election as chairperson.

“I’m honored to serve as chair of the board at CCNJ. I look forward to working with my board colleagues and the Council staff to promote the business of chemistry in New Jersey and grow the organization,” said Michael Heltzer, newly elected chairperson of the board of directors.

Other board officers elected were First-Vice Chairperson Mark Jasko, global director of Engineering & Development for Thermo Fisher Scientific, and Treasurer Bill Paulin, co-president Administration & Finance for Kuehne Chemical Company. Dennis Hart is an ex-officio member of the Board serving as secretary.

The new leadership will help guide the Council as the world and industry emerges from the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and response. Their collective years of experience will help guide CCNJ and support the Council as it carries out its mission to advance the issues important to the more than 100 member companies and the business of chemistry in New Jersey.

To access more business news, visit NJB News Now.

Related Articles: